My Dream Come True!
9 years ago
Our Journey of Adoption
I got an email back today on the girl I inquired about in Florida. Right now I just want to cry. I am so sad for this child. She is so beautiful, sweet and shy looking. She has long dirty blonde hair with a big white bow and white dress on. She has brown eyes and glasses. She really looks like an angel. The case worker told me she has possible schizophrenia! Looks can be deceiving. It makes me so sad for her. That has got to be internal torture. Living inside her own lonely world. What caused it? Was it her circumstances or heredity? Did someone do this to her? She has already had one adoption disruption, which means the family that was going to adopt her said they couldn’t handle it. What a horrible life that poor baby has had to deal with. On top of her mental illness, no one wants her. It breaks my heart. I want to take her and “fix” it. Then I have to humble myself and think what makes me think I can do anything different than anyone else has? I would love to. The challenge doesn’t scare me, but could I? Probably not. Does she even want to be loved? I should have been a case worker. That line of work attracts me and I have a true passion to want to learn and help those kids. The ones that, in reality, I can’t take on at home. I guess what I can do is pray for her. People with schizophrenia can control it with medication and live normally. Hopefully she can find the right family with experience in dealing with the illness where she can live normal, happy, loved, and get the long term help and care she needs. If you pray, please pray for Brianna.
I searched every adoption website I could find yesterday. I found two girls I was very interested in. I requested information on them, but I have not heard anything back. Patience, patience *sigh*. One of them is in Colorado and the other is in Florida. It’s funny because when we started this we wanted a girl as young as we could find, but under 10 years old max. The two girls I was drawn to yesterday were 11 and 12 LOL. Who knows where this will lead! Allison, Mark and I discussed it yesterday (the boys don’t really care either way, Allison is the one that will share her room), but we are thinking maybe it would be good to adopt one around 11 or 12 first, start looking to move where we will have more room, then adopt younger. I have some questions for my case worker about that first though.
It’s funny how people have pictured what the child we adopt will look like. My mom said she pictured us with a little blonde haired, curly headed girl. I picture totally opposite. Dark, long brown hair. I will have to see if Mark has pictured anything. Of course we don’t know what he, she or they will look like and we are not making a decision based on what they look like. But it is interesting what people think and waiting to see how it turns out. I saw a family of five kids, yes FIVE, that I was drawn to, but obviously we don’t have the room. It’s funny the ones I have been drawn to have been groups of siblings. If we had the room that is what we would do. I am going to burst when we get our first match. It will be so exciting, and to think that it could happen at any minute of any day is amazing. I can’t believe we made it through the “process” so far. It’s a major accomplishment just getting to this point. I didn’t think I had the patience to do it. I wasn’t patient, but I did survive! It was always a thing I thought about often and really didn’t think it was possible for us. I don’t know why, I just figured it was something I wanted, but it would never happen. Mark and I adopt? No way, it would never happen. It will always just be a dream. I would tell people the rest of my life “yeah, I always wanted to adopt, but never did”. Well, here we are! Entering a life I never really expected. It was kind of one of those “it happens to others, but will never happen for me”. All it took was motivation and action to get it started. Why it seemed unattainable to me, I am not sure. Now I just wonder why more people don’t do it. I am sure they have the same fears I did. It’s just a matter of researching and realizing most of the fears are just that, fears! You would be surprised at what you might learn. We can’t be driven by fear. That has kept me from so much before and doing this is such an accomplishment for me. Over-coming my fears and not letting others influence what I know is in my heart. I have thought a lot about WHY I have a heart for adoption. I hope it doesn’t come across that the family I have is not enough, that I need more, because that is not the case. I am completely fulfilled. I love my family and I am very proud of them. They are more than enough. I am truly blessed and I know this. I have great kids, boys and a girl. I’m not missing a thing, BUT in ways I do feel sometimes that we are not done. Our family is not complete yet. It sounds like a contraindication, but it’s not. I think God has placed adoption on my heart. He is telling me we are not finished yet. We still need to build our family. Although I am content, I do get that feeling of not being finished, and it’s from God. I know that. As well, it’s not just me. I feel my kids and husband are still ready to share their life with more. We are all content, but we are all not finished yet! We are anxious to continue on the journey.

I feel such a weight lifted from my shoulders. Just knowing we are approved was a huge release of anticipation. I feel peaceful and motivated now. I feel like I can do anything. We have to make 3 Life Books for our case worker. Life Books are just a small scrapbook, about 7 or 8 pages, of our family, holidays, pets, fun stuff, or whatever we want. The case worker will give our book to other case workers looking for families for kids. If the child is old enough and is one we have showed interest in then they will get to look at the Life Book as well. We were told to make them as if a child will be viewing them. So it needs to be simple and fun. The child we adopt will get to keep the Life Book. I used to scrapbook, but soon got bored with it and have not done it in years. I started our Life Book when we had our homestudy and haven’t picked it up since. It’s been sitting in my living room for 2 ½ months incomplete. I just didn’t have the motivation. I think I can muster some up now! I didn’t realize I needed to make three of them so it will take a little time, but I hope with the kids help I can get it done tonight.
Not a word yet. Not even a response. I emailed a different worker today. Maybe I will hear from someone. I could pick up the phone and try to call them, but as I was thinking about that today I realized I am afraid to. I am afraid of what they are going to tell me at this point. I could be completely off base, but I picture them scurrying around trying to decide what they are going to tell me. How they are going to tell me we are not approved or how they are going to tell me “Oh, we discovered we can’t find your homestudy. It has been misplaced. We will have to rewrite it and send it again.” I will absolutely be crushed!!!
Although I didn’t sleep well again, I feel like I woke up in a little better mood this morning. I think going home early yesterday helped because I wasn’t sitting in front of my computer just waiting for an email from the case worker. I find myself just sitting here waiting for an incoming message and hoping it’s from her. Lately I have struggled being at work and I now think that is why. I drive myself crazy all day waiting for email then I am disappointed at the end of the day when I don’t get the one I’m waiting on. I have to constantly remind myself to picture "peace". I saw this picture and it is so true! Isn't it such a peaceful feeling to hold a sleeping child. I miss rocking my babies to sleep!
I never got a reply from our case worker from yesterday so I emailed her again after lunch today. She emailed me back and said she would “check into it”. So far, that’s all I have gotten back. At least this time she said she would check into it instead of “no, haven’t heard anything, I will let you know.” I hope it’s not bad news since we haven’t heard anything. Maybe she is afraid to tell us we were not approved. Who knows. I haven’t been in a very good mood lately though and I apologize for that. I know I shouldn’t worry, I should have patience, but I am really struggling with it. I heard a sermon about “wanting” and begging God for things. Even things that may be for good. The lesson was more or less, be careful what you wish for, sometimes you get more than what you bargain for. I am trying to apply that to my situation now. God wants us to want Him and He is enough. He knows what is best and doesn’t want to hear our begging and “wanting”. I know I “want” to adopt. We have wanted it for a while. I know it’s a “good” thing. Maybe He knows something we don’t. So, in the meantime I’m trying to just “let it go” for now. But I’m not in a great mood. I don’t know what I will do if we find out we aren’t approved after all this work, time, and waiting. I will have to deal with it. I have not been very focused on anything else. I feel like I am walking around in a fog, the unknown. I missed the 10th grade registration. That’s the first year I have ever missed a registration for one of my kids. I will get him registered, but late of course. I haven’t wanted to cook, but I have. I know that’s a chore no one really WANTS to do but it has taken some extra effort lately. I will be ok, I am just ready to get over this hump. Actually, it feels more like a huge mountain and I am so ready to reach the peak. Each days end feels like another reach for the top, one more step, pulling myself up, muscles sore and weak in an effort to reach the peak. And I cannot see the top. I am just left wondering if this one reach will be the last reach before I can pull myself up to the top and let out a sigh of relief.

I have a lot on my mind lately. Some of it I am not quite ready to blog about, but I will eventually. When I am content and secure in the direction I am supposed to go. Life can be so hard. It’s up to me to make decisions that are going to affect more people than just yourself. My kids depend on me to make good decisions. I am not confident in my own decisions and look to God for direction. I have a hard time with that though. Sometimes I don’t know if it’s just me that wants something bad, therefore I THINK God is leading me that way. Or is it really Him directing me? It’s hard for me to clear my mind and just listen. How do you really know it’s God’s will and not your own? I am still trying to learn that. When I try to go to God for direction I start looking for everything that happens to be an indicator one way or the other on what I should do. The only thing I can absolutely say that it is Gods will and not my own is the adoption. The reason I know that is because there have been so many times I wanted to back out. So much frustration that it would be easier just to say forget it. I have had people try to discourage me from it. I have been afraid of it. But each time I am led right back to the place I am at and something inside of me reassures me that it will be ok and to push forward. In our adoption class they even told us when you run into road blocks DO NOT take that as a sign from God that it isn’t the right thing for you to do because everyone WILL run into some sort of road block along the way. I’m glad they said that because the way I am, that’s EXACTLY what I would have done by now. When we had so much trouble with our doctor I would have said Ok this is a sign, God is trying to put the brakes on this!! LOL. That’s the way I am. With everything else I need God to just send me a letter telling me what to do, send me a text, call me up or just hit me over the head with it. I am not good “figuring it out”. Does that mean I don’t listen? I don’t have enough faith? I’m not sure, maybe both. I really want to learn how to listen harder and have more faith. I want to KNOW the path I should take. I’m glad I at least have peace in our adoption decision. It has now been 2 weeks TODAY that the case worker told me it would be about 2 more weeks before we hear anything. *sigh* Hopefully it will be GOOD news SOON. I am ready to be energized and encouraged!
