
I have found a great show on t.v. called Adoption Stories on the WE network. It’s on at 5:30 a.m. so naturally I tiVo it! It is a 30 minute show that features a different family every show and a condensed version of their adoption journey. They show the actual people and the adopted child. It is so good! It makes me that much more excited about adopting. I look forward to watching it every day. The kids have watched it too and really enjoy it. I think it really is starting to give them a heart for adoption and helping them understand more our desire to do it.
The waiting can be maddening. I ended up emailing our caseworker and expressed my frustration with the lack of communication. She was very sweet and I got to let off a little steam *smile*.
We are going to a potluck Saturday night for waiting families. Going to a party with a bunch of strangers is definitely not me and Marks “thing”, but I think we are going to go. I just feel like we need to. There is also a “matching party” in San Antonio in a couple weeks, but I think we have decided against going to that. I feel like it would be very awkward mingling with other families and children wanting to be adopted. I would feel like I was competing to “purchase” a child. I don’t think I am comfortable with that situation.
Brendan is getting his new bed today so in actuality we will have three extra sleeping areas! Things are getting crowded but that’s ok! It is not looking like we will be able to share our camping trip with new family members this year. It would have been a lot of fun, but I know our child/children are out there, just waiting and we will get them at the right time. I am anxious to be able to look back and understand why and how things happened the way they did. It will all make so much sense then.
In the meantime, if you get a chance to watch Adoption Stories please do!! It is a great show!